top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTwirling Nation

Gillian Brooks


Gillian Brooks is the Penn State University Blue Sapphire. She has won the Juvenile, Pre-Teen and the Junior Miss Majorette of America. She is a 9 time national two baton champion and a 3x national 3 baton champion. Gillian is currently one of the best twirlers in the nation! We asked her the questions you wanted answered.

Your Questions:

1) What is your favorite part about twirling?

2) If you could change one thing about the sport where would it be?

3) What has been your favorite twirling memory?

4) Can you give your favorite/best tip to success?

5) If you could say anything to your younger self what would it be?

6) What/who is your biggest motivation?

7) What was your favorite part about twirling in Peru?


Her answers:

1. My favorite part about twirling is being able to be a fan of the sport. I love watching twirling videos from the past and present to see how the sport is constantly evolving.

2. If I could change one thing about the sport I would want gymnastics to be allowed in rhythmic and collegiate events at NBTA. Right now I feel like traveling tricks are very limited in these events with out the use of gymnastics and it limits creativity in the routines. I also feel like gymnastics is a huge aspect of twirling on the field and with out it it doesn’t show every aspect of what twirlers can do.

3. My favorite twirling memory was my first football game at Penn State. There was so much fun and excitement all in one day and I will never forget the feeling of taking the field for the first time and hearing my name announced in front of 100,000 fans. Twirling in college was always my dream and having the opportunity to do this at the school I loved has made for an unforgettable experience.

4. My best tip for success would be to always compete with the goal of nationals. You can’t let yourself get upset and discouraged over a bad performance or placement at a competition through out the year. You always have to remember that nothing really matters until you get to AYOP and you use those performances to grow and get better.

5. I would tell my younger self to not be so nervous. When I was little I used to have the worst nerves at baton competitions and many times it would effect my performance. As I’ve gotten older this has been much better because I’ve started to realize that at the end of the day it’s just a baton contest.

6. My biggest motivation in twirling right now is to represent my university. I’m so excited to have the opportunity to compete in the collegiate events at nationals this summer and I want to make sure I represent my school well. Participating in the collegiate events at nationals has been something i’ve been so excited about ever since I was little and I can’t wait for that opportunity this summer! 7. My favorite part about twirling in peru was definitely the friendships I made! I met so many amazing girls that I still talk to every day. I became really great friends with Kimberly Law and last summer she came and visited me to prepare for nationals together! It was so much fun and her visiting me was all thanks to the Peru trip we went on together in 2018.

117 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page